• 55 West 5th Avenue San Mateo CA 94402
  • (650) 376-5720

55 West Fifth Apartments Reviews

Reviews are based on experiences of actual residents.

4.1 / 5 based on reviews from actual residents and their experience living with us.

Parking Quality

Maintenance Staff

Grounds

Roy I

Verified resident as of 8/2019

Alyssa is doing a great job and is an effective representative of the owner. The maintenance men have been responsive whenever I reported a problem.

Reviewed on: 3/15/2020

Breanna C

Verified resident as of 1/2020

Service team is great, prompt, very responsive and the service manager always makes sure to check in on any issues once it’s been resolved.

Reviewed on: 2/12/2020

Cheryl C

Verified resident as of 12/2019

Everyone in the leasing office has been great, particularly Mikey who went above and beyond to ensure our move in experience was as easy as possible.

Reviewed on: 1/2/2020

Ryan D

Verified resident as of 11/2019

Staff is amazing, great location

Reviewed on: 12/7/2019

Ian H

Verified resident as of 4/2019

Very responsive, always service with a smile

Reviewed on: 11/29/2019

Justin R

Verified resident as of 9/2019

The team is very responsive.

Reviewed on: 10/12/2019

Bert P

Verified resident as of 2/2016

Amazing follow through on all requests. Always smiling and greeting us. We have never lived in a building with such exceptions service and kindness.

Reviewed on: 9/27/2019

Sara L

Verified resident as of 1/2016

Alyssa is very helpful and responsive

Reviewed on: 9/25/2019

Courtney A

Verified resident as of 1/2019

I adore Alyssa...she’s kind, fast, and knowledgeable

Reviewed on: 9/7/2019

Teresita S

Verified resident as of 12/2017

5 Stars for Alyssa and the team. They’re quick to respond to service requests always very attentive to tenants, both furry and human. I’ve been very happy since my move to 55West5th.

Reviewed on: 9/1/2019

Stephen B

Verified resident as of 12/2015

Alyssa G. has been an absolute star ever since I moved in. Her attentiveness and care are a large part of why I remain in this building.

Reviewed on: 8/20/2019

Bria S

Verified resident as of 2/2015

The service team is extraordinary

Reviewed on: 8/17/2019

Evan S

Verified resident as of 2/2015

The custodial staff is amazing - friendly, knowledgeable, efficient, and Alyssia is a phenomenal manager.

Reviewed on: 8/2/2019

Michele M

Verified resident as of 12/2017

Staff is friendly and eager to be helpful. Alyssa is my go-to resource. She is an excellent asset for 55 W 5th!

Reviewed on: 7/29/2019

Cornelius O

Verified resident as of 11/2014

Wonderful all around!

Reviewed on: 7/27/2019

Roberta S

Verified resident as of 4/2017

Helps with anything I may need.

Reviewed on: 7/7/2019

Joel B

Verified resident as of 8/2017

Great apartment and location. Service is first class! Moving back home to Canada

Reviewed on: 7/2/2019

Dina A

Verified resident as of 11/2018

Alyssa is amazing... she works hard to make our lives more convenient. She is one of the main reasons we live here

Reviewed on: 6/24/2019

Isaac A

Verified resident as of 10/2015

The leasingmanagement team are great.

Reviewed on: 6/14/2019

Anne B

Verified resident as of 10/2015

The staff in our building are very nice and helpful.

Reviewed on: 6/12/2019

Edmund R

Verified resident as of 9/2015

Alyssa , Monigue , Martin Jorge are all very responsive to the community’s needs!

Reviewed on: 5/28/2019

Bethany L

Verified resident as of 5/2019

We love our new home! Our questions and minor maintenance requests have been addressed promptly and thoroughly. Our dog loves the community, too. The office staff is exceptional.

Reviewed on: 5/22/2019

Diana R

Verified resident as of 11/2016

We love living at 55 W 5th! Weve had a great 2.5 years here and were sad to leave the community were moving because we bought a house, which is financially better for us. Weve appreciated the hard work of 55s staff, especially Alyssa with her knowledge, experience, and friendly personality. Thanks for making 55 great!

Reviewed on: 4/26/2019

Kira L

Verified resident as of 4/2017

We had a great experience here! Really nice staff, prompt repairs, clean, great location. Were moving back home to Michigan, but could have stayed here for a while if we were staying in the area.

Reviewed on: 4/23/2019

GABRIELA M

Verified resident as of 12/2011

Great customer service , answer all you’re questions

Reviewed on: 4/20/2019

Kaoru F

Verified resident as of 5/2018

We wont renew this apartment because we have to go back my country. We want to live 5th apartment more and more. If we have a chance to come back to SanMateo , we will choose to live in 5th apartment.

Reviewed on: 4/17/2019

Hiroki F

Verified resident as of 5/2018

All the staff is friendly, holding nice events. Specifically, Alyssa is warm and helps our family a lot such as sending reminder, which contributes on our best satisfaction. In general, the apartment also service staff respond quickly. The location of this apartment is amazing quick access to down town and beautiful surroundings.

Reviewed on: 4/17/2019

James H

Verified resident as of 8/2015

Your staff is excellent. - especially the maintenance guys. They are prompt in emgencies and do a good cleaning up when they finish

Reviewed on: 4/15/2019

Joel B

Verified resident as of 8/2017

Very helpful office staff and maintenance folks.

Reviewed on: 3/25/2019

Ryan R

Verified resident as of 3/2019

Team has been great. Very helpful and responsive.

Reviewed on: 3/23/2019

Nicole M

Verified resident as of 7/2018

The team has been very responsive and helpful in regards to questions we’ve had about the lease and property, service issues are always addressed very timely if not faster than expected, and the apartment complex itself is overall well maintained and an enjoyable place to live :

Reviewed on: 2/19/2019

Corinne S

Verified resident as of 1/2019

Team is amazing!

Reviewed on: 2/5/2019

Hiroki F

Verified resident as of 5/2018

Very friendly and are willing to organize events which entertain residents

Reviewed on: 1/28/2019

King Ming H

Verified resident as of 8/2005

Nice views, close to everything, great staff

Reviewed on: 1/24/2019

Matthew B

Verified resident as of 2/2017

The staff are very friendly and have been very understanding when addressing building issues.

Reviewed on: 12/30/2018

Charles G

Verified resident as of 5/2016

Alyssa and Monique are awesome! They’re quick with any response to questions or concerns.

Reviewed on: 12/29/2018

Ashay A

Verified resident as of 5/2018

Alyssa was great when we moved in and has been a smiling face whenever we see her. Makes my day.

Reviewed on: 12/27/2018

Hillary T

Verified resident as of 6/2017

We had an excellent experience here. The team has been great, the property is great and all of our needs were met. Everyone is responsive, friendly and very helpful. Alyssa has been excellent since the day we met her. We are only moving because of a job change. If we were staying in the Bay Area then we would be staying here. Thank you!!

Reviewed on: 12/7/2018

Lorenzo V

Verified resident as of 12/2017

The management and staff are very realible, friendly and easy to approach. Any issues we had in the unit were immediately rectified and resolved. Great people! Our family and our pet love this community property. We will stay here at much as we can. Awesome!

Reviewed on: 12/2/2018

Megan M

Verified resident as of 11/2018

Alyssa has been super helpful and explained how things work here well

Reviewed on: 11/24/2018

Rolan M

Verified resident as of 10/2018

Alyssa and all her colleagues at the leasing office are great! Many thanks for their support and help!

Reviewed on: 11/14/2018

Oleksii M

Verified resident as of 11/2017

leasing officers are always friendly and ready to help. If I have any issue with my unit facilities, I get it fixed on time. Keep up the good work!

Reviewed on: 11/12/2018

Katrina H

Verified resident as of 9/2017

Alyssa is amazing. She is the best apartment manager we have ever had. She is very helpful whenever we have questions or concerns. She always makes time to wave or say hi even when she’s busy. She is extremely professional and very friendly. She has made us feel like members of a community! We’ll miss her and the rest of the team!!

Reviewed on: 11/2/2018

Alexander G

Verified resident as of 9/2018

We love Alyssa!

Reviewed on: 10/25/2018

Hannah B

Verified resident as of 10/2018

Jessica is very professional and helpful. She told us the best way to get street parking and internet. Someone is always available in the office when we need them.

Reviewed on: 10/21/2018

Keith M

Verified resident as of 9/2018

Alyssa and her team are stars.

Reviewed on: 10/8/2018

Lindsey P

Verified resident as of 1/2016

Always goes above and beyond

Reviewed on: 9/6/2018

Bria S

Verified resident as of 2/2015

Alyssia is phenomenal - knowledgeable, compassionate, helpful.

Reviewed on: 8/14/2018

Victoria S

Verified resident as of 8/2017

Everything was great, we are sad to leave but have no other choice due to college

Reviewed on: 8/3/2018

Amanda S

Verified resident as of 7/2018

In general, Alyssa and Monique are quick to respond to any questions or issues you contact them about, and the moving process into the apartments was a very smooth transition.

Reviewed on: 7/28/2018

Tommy H

Verified resident as of 5/2018

The staff is great and our unit is amazing!

Reviewed on: 6/8/2018

Charles G

Verified resident as of 5/2016

We love Alyssa and Leah. Community is great and amenities are nice.

Reviewed on: 4/11/2018

Sreya V

Verified resident as of 10/2014

The office staff is very friendly and courteous. The maintenance staff is very responsive and accommodating. Weve had all our issues taken care of with minimal effort. Its been a great experience living here.

Reviewed on: 4/6/2018

Joel B

Verified resident as of 8/2017

Great team, apartment and location!

Reviewed on: 3/30/2018

Shan H

Verified resident as of 1/2018

Alyssa was great - very friendly and responsive. We had a couple of minor maintenance requests when we first moved in, and the maintenance crew was able to have them addressed very quickly as well.

Reviewed on: 2/13/2018

Joan P

Verified resident as of 7/2006

always very helpful, especially when we have a problem and Oneill falls they are very prompt in finding someone to help him get up, we appreciate the assistance!!!!!

Reviewed on: 2/1/2018

King Ming H

Verified resident as of 8/2005

Its been our home for the past 13 years and we love it here.

Reviewed on: 2/1/2018

Ignacio M

Verified resident as of 6/2016

Allisa and Leah are really nice with us since the first day.

Reviewed on: 1/28/2018

Michele M

Verified resident as of 12/2017

Alyssa and Leah have been most friendly and helpful during my move and transition to 55 W Fifth! So far I am a happy new resident.

Reviewed on: 1/6/2018

Sarah C

Verified resident as of 5/2016

Alyssa and Leah are amazing! They always go above and beyond what their job entailes.

Reviewed on: 12/23/2017

Inna N

Verified resident as of 1/2017

It is very convenient location and a nice apartment. Staff is super nice and helpful!

Reviewed on: 12/10/2017

Ray S

Verified resident as of 3/2014

The team at 55 West as always been available and courteous to answer and resolute any questions or problems Ive had in the past 4 years that Ive been living here. And hopefully many more years to come.

Reviewed on: 12/8/2017

Kayleigh S

Verified resident as of 11/2017

Alyssa has been so helpful and pleasant! A wave and genuine smile when we pass by the leasing office is a plus, too :

Reviewed on: 12/5/2017

Iryna M

Verified resident as of 11/2017

Very friendly and helpful team!

Reviewed on: 11/21/2017

Sharon S

Verified resident as of 9/2017

They are super helpful, and very nice people. Great customer service.

Reviewed on: 10/13/2017

Clyde V

Verified resident as of 9/2017

Alyssa went above and beyond to help me get my paperwork completed, find the right location and helping me get settled with my lease! Couldnt have asked for anyone any better to work with.

Reviewed on: 10/2/2017

Matthew W

Verified resident as of 1/2016

Staff is friendly, and very responsive.

Reviewed on: 9/26/2017

Victoria S

Verified resident as of 8/2017

So far everything has been great and the team has been super helpful through helping us with everything in a timly and kind manor. We have had a ton of questions and not once did someone not help or have a bad attitude

Reviewed on: 9/21/2017

Asha R

Verified resident as of 4/2013

We loved living here, but are moving as we are ready to own our own home.

Reviewed on: 9/17/2017

Larry G

Verified resident as of 11/1993

The maintenance people do a good job.

Reviewed on: 9/15/2017

Jennifer R

Verified resident as of 11/2016

I love living there.

Reviewed on: 9/9/2017

Lorenzo V

Verified resident as of 12/2015

Pretty awesome. The staff are very helpful to address residents request. Very accommodating.

Reviewed on: 9/3/2017

Teresa T

Verified resident as of 8/2017

Secured unit and moving next week. The leasing five staff has been simply wonderful!

Reviewed on: 8/18/2017

Ian F

Verified resident as of 1/2016

They are a great team: always helpful, boundless energy to address issues or questions.

Reviewed on: 8/11/2017

Bria S

Verified resident as of 2/2015

Both Alyssia and Olivia go beyond their roles on a consistent basis to make sure that our problem is solved in a timely manner. Plus they are delightful people!

Reviewed on: 8/5/2017

Gerald P

Verified resident as of 8/2016

I have had a wonderful time living here, with the great office staff and service team. I will truly miss living here.

Reviewed on: 7/27/2017

Devon S

Verified resident as of 6/2017

The team is very attentive and professional. Great experience, so far so good.

Reviewed on: 6/22/2017

Cindy G

Verified resident as of 5/2017

Olivia and Alyssa have far exceeded my expectations with their helpfulness, friendliness, knowledge and support.

Reviewed on: 6/2/2017

Jennifer J

Verified resident as of 2/2016

The management here is always responsive. I think they really try their best to keep us informed and to encourage neighbors to be respectful and clean which I am appreciative of! If I have ever had an issue their response time has been quite quick and have resolved all of my issues timely.

Reviewed on: 5/26/2017

Gale S

Verified resident as of 9/2016

Great team. Everyone is hard working

Reviewed on: 5/13/2017

Thomas L

Verified resident as of 1/2016

Friendly residents great diversity great views and amenities clean Prompt service great engineering team Thoughtful and professional mgmt team.

Reviewed on: 4/28/2017

Jane K

Verified resident as of 4/2017

Alyssa has been super great to work with!

Reviewed on: 4/25/2017

Noelani V

Verified resident as of 4/2017

Everyone was so helpful in making our moving transition as smooth as possible, especially Olivia Sanchez! She has been so kind, welcoming, and quick to help us with anything that we need.

Reviewed on: 4/25/2017

Maziar A

Verified resident as of 4/2017

Olivia is very friendly and welcoming, and has been very helpful and easy to work with through the whole process.

Reviewed on: 4/24/2017

Sujean C

Verified resident as of 8/2016

always prompt and cordial.

Reviewed on: 4/22/2017

Jessica W

Verified resident as of 4/2014

The team is always very responsive and on top of things whenever we have maintenance issues or questions.

Reviewed on: 3/4/2017

King Ming H

Verified resident as of 8/2005

Great location, great views. Quiet surrounding. Spacious parking. Great staff.

Reviewed on: 12/30/2016

Olivia S

Verified resident as of 11/2016

The office staff here is excellent! Service staff is very professional upon my move in and answered all my questions. I'm very satisfied with my new home! Thank you!

Reviewed on: 12/13/2016

Ravikant R

Verified resident as of 10/2016

Alyssa Giorgetti was a superlative leasing associate, very helpful, prompt, and professional in helping me move into Apt 238 at 95 W 5th Ave, San Mateo. I was under a time crunch to find a place before I start a new job on Monday morning, and she got me in the Saturday prior. Overall, I am very happy with this move, and with Alyssa's dedication. Thank you!

Reviewed on: 11/7/2016

Kyle S

Verified resident as of 9/2016

Our leasing office management team is amazing. Olivia Sanchez was integral to us moving into this complex, and our living experience has been awesome knowing that she is always eager to help us with any situation.

Reviewed on: 10/10/2016

Dan H

Verified resident as of 11/2014

Everyone was great! One of the best staffs I‘’ve ever seen run an apartment complex. The leasing office staff is always very friendly and helpful. (I‘’m always surprised Alyssa can remember me with how many people live here.) And maintenance requests are handled so quickly and professionally. If I were still renting, I‘’d still want to live here, no doubt!

Reviewed on: 10/4/2016

Sonia B

Verified resident as of 8/2016

I was delighted with the excellent attention given to me by your office staff and maintenance personnel. Each person was kind, attentive and made the transition into your building a pleasure.

Reviewed on: 9/20/2016

George D

Verified resident as of 6/2016

Relocating from Texas to California was very stressful and my family and I were very impressed with the staff and the property. Leah, Gerald, Alyssa and Olivia are an absolute joy and made our transition so much more enjoyable. It's really because of them that I've recommended this property to some of my colleagues that are thinking of relocating to the area.

Reviewed on: 8/12/2016

Luke P

Verified resident as of 1/2015

Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Reviewed on: 8/10/2016

Jason S

Verified resident as of 12/2015

All of the staff here at 55 West 5th are awesome! We knew that this would be a temporary living situation for us because we were in the process of purchasing a home. We really wanted to live in a nice place while we searched to buy a home and did a lot of research when looking for an apartment. We were interested in living at 55 West 5th because of the updated apartments, proximity to downtown, and the amenities but we chose West 55th primarily because of the warm reception we received from Alyssa when we did our tour. Once we moved in Alyssa, Leah, Olivia, Martin and all of the other members of the 55 West 5th staff did everything they could to make our living experience a great one. Thank you for such a great experience!

Reviewed on: 6/28/2016

Rishita A

Verified resident as of 9/2015

Alyssa from the leasing office has been especially helpful getting us settled in to the new apartment. She went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that we could get this apartment, and that it was exactly what we were looking for. I cannot emphasize how happy my wife and I are with everyone who works here.

Reviewed on: 10/21/2015

Patrick H

Verified resident as of 6/2015

I do feel welcome here each day !

Reviewed on: 7/9/2015

Nicholas H

Verified resident as of 5/2015

Move in was great, property staff where helpful and very welcoming.

Reviewed on: 6/22/2015

Bob H

Verified resident as of 4/2015

The staff has been great thanks

Reviewed on: 5/12/2015

Barry C

Verified resident as of 10/2014

I looked at several apartment complexes before choosing to live at 55 West. One of the main reasons I choose to live here (besides its dog friendliness and location) is Gary's enthusiasm during my apartment viewing. It was hard to tell him no. Also, when I did my walk through with Michael a couple of days before my move in date, I pointed out a few things that I wanted taken care of/cleaned up. Michael ensured that they were completed before I moved in. I also appreciate their friendliness when ever I get home from work and they are in the office.

Reviewed on: 11/26/2014

Stephen D

Verified resident as of 6/2014

The staff has been very responsive to our requests.

Reviewed on: 7/19/2014

Chris M

Verified resident as of 8/2013

Enjoy living here. Community is well maintained and staff is friendly.

Reviewed on: 3/26/2014

Carol A

Verified resident as of 9/2012

Thanks for valuing me as a rentee in the building. Also, Matt was a great customer service person for the maintenance team. Uri was also a very hard worker. I appreciate their hard work and always saying hello to me. Thank you!

Reviewed on: 1/21/2013

Carol A

Verified resident as of 9/2012

Michael the property manager helped me with my move in. The property had just been purchased by Equity, so several things were done manually instead of online because of the change over. Michael was very professional and really helpful. Janee also works in the office and she's a doll. They were very helpful on my move in day and wanted to make sure everything was in great order. They sent the maintenance guy in to check on everything, too. It made me feel really welcome. Thanks. I like living here.

Reviewed on: 10/5/2012